Movie Shark Header
movie shark deblore
Film Critic to the Culver City Observer and over 132 Publications Worldwide including: The Observer, Inc., John Schimmenti, Inc., CCN, Inc.,
Santa Monica Observer, Inc., Beacon-Times, Inc., Columbus-Register, Inc., and a Host of Others
All new content can be found at


- Call for Entries for Films “Cool” High School and College Mentoring Program –

MALIBU, CA (May 25, 2007) – Film Festival veteran Nancy Collet has joined the Malibu Celebration of Film (MCOF) as their Artistic Director. Collet will work with MCOF Executive Director Kim Jackson to select award-winning festival films from around the world to screen at the event, which will take place September 26th- 30th in Malibu, CA. MCOF is also announcing a Call for Entries for short films from local high school and colleges for their FILMS “COOL” mentoring program.

Says Kim Jackson; “We’re thrilled to have Nancy on our team as she has a stellar reputation for programming a strong, versatile slate of films. We are honored to have her on board.”

Collet adds, “"I'm excited to work with Kim and to help create an impressive and quality program for MCOF. This showcase festival is so unique and I'm impressed with what has been accomplished so far”

MCOF’S Educational Outreach Program, FILMS “COOL” is a high school and college awarded screening and mentoring program, co-chaired by Academy Award nominated actors Ed Harris and Amy Madigan. MCOF is accepting short film entries from high school and college student filmmakers and chosen participants will premiere their films in a day-long screening exhibition and extensive Q & A session with mentors and filmmakers. MCOF’s goal is to mobilize the Malibu community’s accomplished pool of film industry talent and to help give voice to the next generation of talent.

Nancy Collet was formerly with AFI Fest since 1997, when she joined the festival as Programming Coordinator. Soon after she was promoted to Program Manager and by 2000, she was Director of Programming, overseeing seven AFI editions in this position.

As Director of Programming, Collet was responsible for selecting all of the films in the festival and putting together a strong and varied program. During her time at AFI Fest, she secured the premieres of Academy Award winning film such as “Pan’s Labyrinth”, “Tsoti”, “Walk The Line”, “Hotel Rwanda”, “The Sea Inside”, “The Fog of War”, “Monster”, “City of God”, “Monster’s Ball”, “Cider House Rules”, “All About My Mother”, “Life is Beautiful” and “Gods and Monsters” among others.

In 2002, Collet helped to launch AFI’s year round programming initiative at the ArcLight Hollywood and the Skirball Cultural Center, creating and overseeing numerous screening series, mini festivals, retrospectives and special events with Q & As.

The Malibu Celebration of Film (MCOF) is a unique community event, bringing “The Best of The Best”, festival winning films from around the world, to the Malibu community. An annual tribute to a local film industry icon, a student film competition and outdoor screenings under the stars are just part of the intimate experience guests will enjoy. Last year, MCOF honored the late legendary Academy Award winning director Robert Altman at a star-studded event with attendees including Lindsey Lohan, Virginia Madsen, Elliot Gould, Ray Liotta among others.

Approximately 40 award winning features, documentaries, shorts and animation will be screened during the Malibu Celebration of Film’s five-day event, with audiences estimated to be up to 1,000 per screening at diverse locations such as Malibu Hollywood Theatres, Malibu Bluffs Park, Malibu Pier, Calamigos Ranch and Pepperdine University.

MCOF was founded by esteemed Malibu community locals Bob Klein, David Lyons and Delores Rivellino. The festivals Board of Directors are Alan Goldschneider, Bob Klein, Judith Gersten, Professor Michael Goes and Marc Sternberg. Seasoned film festival and entertainment industry professional Kim Jackson is the festival’s executive director.

MCOF has a prestigious Advisory Board of members from the Malibu community, which include Kathleen Quinlan Abbott, Bruce Abbott, Lisette Ackerberg, David Arquette. Robert and Joan Chimento, Roger Corman, Courtney Cox, Grant Gerson, Brian Helgeland, Norman Jewison, Lora Kennedy, Tea Leoni, Ali MacGraw, Grace Slick, Douglas Day Stewart, Dick and Michelle Van Dyke.

For more information on MCOF visit

[Malibu Celebration of film] original content copyright 2000-2017 by debbie lynn elias, all rights reserved
All new content can be found at